favorite
favorite
hide
unhide
flag

Posted

print

$1,200 / 3br - Private room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra (Alhambra Story Park)

Private room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 1 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 2 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 3 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 4 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 5 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 6 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 7 thumbnailPrivate room in updated townhome in Northern Alhambra 8 thumbnail
Private bed/shared bath plus shared spaces in an updated, fun communal house in northern Alhambra

Overview:
2 chill roommates: Deshae and Arjuna
2 adventure cats: Tangerine and Regina (yes, this is a Mean Girls reference)
1more easygoing roomie: you (??)

About the location/house:
A 3 bed, 2.5 bathroom townhome in northern Alhambra, close the confluence of South Pasadena, San Marino and San Gabriel. Less than half a mile to world-class restaurants and shops on Main St. in Alhambra. Two blocks from IMAX movie theater, three blocks from In-N-Out. Less than 2 miles to Target/Costco, etc. One block from a community park with tennis courts. 10-minute drive to CalTech and shops in Pasadena. 5-8 minutes to Lacy Park, Huntington Gardens.

The space has its own garage (with limited bike/gear storage) with easy street parking for a third roommate. Main floor has an updated kitchen, dining room with a wet bar, living room, and updated half bath. Upstairs there are three bedrooms, one with a bathroom en suite, and two that share a fully remodeled bathroom. Rooms are ~ 11 x 11ft.

Amenities/features:
• In-unit laundry/dryer
• Shared updated kitchen/living room/dining room
• Guest bathroom
• Fireplace
• Easy street parking
• Garage storage
• Water and trash included
• Utilities and wifi separate, split evenly
• Quiet, residential area
• Shared spaces are furnished, but amenable to an individual who would has furniture for shared spaces and would like to keep it
• Community board games! (ok, not an amenity, but definite perk?)

About me (Deshae):
I am a program manager turned med student! I'm currently in my 3rd year of medical school and am in the middle of clinical rotations and deciding my future specialty of choice. I’m a generally career-focused, fun-loving, outdoorsy person. I relocated from Colorado to attend medical school, which required a huge leap of faith leaving a successful career to start over as a student! But while the last couple years have been crazy busy, I’ve been leaning into the many emotions and experiences of this new adventure, while trying to explore much of what southern California has to offer. On the weekends, I love to have fun, occasionally (chill) party and stay active. On weekdays, I keep it pretty mellow as we all have stuff to get done, but I love impromptu hang seshes, periodic shared meals, or a board game break, and will cheers to a friendly nightcap. I prefer to live with other laid-back, fun-loving individuals that are down with many of the things I like (below) and do not represent the things I don’t. I’m pro LGBTQ+, support diverse cultures/beliefs/languages.

Things I like:
Soccer, being outdoors, biking, hiking, kayaking, surfing (want to learn!), camping, backpacking, skiing, dogs, home improvement projects, board games, yard games, BBQing, new friends, old friends, impromptu movie nights, good beer, shitty beer, whiskey from the bottle, experimental cooking/cocktail mixing, sharing food, reading, stimulating conversation, learning/trying new things, spontaneity. But also, and very seriously, proactive and effective communication.

Things I don't like:
People who take themselves too seriously, lots of dirty dishes, especially dirty communal spaces (but should feel lived in!), rudeness, closed-mindedness, and roommates that start drama or don’t foster a comfortable and safe living environment or don't pay rent on time. Generally, I dislike when people are not mindful and respectful of themselves and the people and spaces around them.

Cost: $1200 + utilities (split across everyone). Deposit is one month’s rent due upon move- in.

Move-in Date: Flexible
Lease terms: 6 - 12 months (negotiable)

Pets: We have two cats in the house now, so would only consider 1 more cat that is well-behaved with other cats. No dogs or other pets. (sorry, HOA rule, not mine – I love dogs!) $300 deposit for pets.

If Interested:
Send Deshae an email by responding to this post. In the email feel free to let us know a bit about yourself and best contact information and timing to consider introductory call or showing. We look forward to hearing from you! There's no application fee, but please, serious inquiries only.

post id: 7740507096

posted:

updated:

best of [?]

loading
reading
writing
saving
searching